top of page

Lincoln Canoe Club Canoeing Events and Club Competitions 

The club concentrates primarily on flatwater racing, which covers both marathon and sprint competitions. (click on the pictures for more information)

Sprint Racing

Sprint Racing


Races are in lanes over distances of 200, 500 and 1000 metres of flat water in single, double and four man kayaks and canoes. Boats are designed solely for speed, being long and narrow and rather unstable. Kayaks are steered by a foot-operated rudder.
There are five national Regattas each year between April and September and these are usually held at the National Water Sports Centre, Holme Pierrepont, Nottingham. 
The Club has a number of trophies which are presented each year to members who compete in Sprint Racing. These are :- 
The Beryl Oliver Cup - for the best performance by a Lincoln paddler at the Sprint Racing National Championships. 
The Ron Emes Blade - For consistent good performances throughout the racing season. Points are awarded according to one's finishing place in each race entered at each Regatta and added up at the end of the season. 
The Flavell Cup - Similar to the Ron Emes Blade competition but for under 12 paddlers only.

Marathon Racing


Boats are mainly as for Sprint Racing, although any type of craft can be used, but races are in singles and doubles over distances of 4 to 12 miles according to ability. Races are held on canals and rivers and may involve carrying the boat (portaging) around locks and weirs.
The Lincoln Marathon was traditionally held in late March or early April for over forty years, but was moved to the autumn in 2008. 
Marathon races are Regional events, with the top Clubs from each Region qualifying for a National Final (at Richmond, on the River Thames in 2017) at the end of the season. Lincoln is in the Midlands Region and the top 6 Clubs will qualify. 

Marathon Racing

Feathered Blade Competition


Club's Winter Marathon series on the Fosse Dyke

Feathered Blade

Summer Marathons

Club's Summer Marathon's on the Fosse Dyke

Summer Marathons

Club Championships

Non-handicapped Sprint, Marathon and Slalom races.

Club Championships

Bernard Worth Trophy

and Bannister Trophy Competitions - For National Marathon Racing. 

Seniors and Juniors over 12 years old compete for the Bernard Worth Trophy. 
Juniors under 12 years old compete for the Bannister Trophy. 
Points are awarded at each qualifying Hasler series Marathon Race. 
Click here for the Bernard Worth Points Calculator. 
There is a 5 point bonus for promotion to a higher division. 
Points for the Bannister Trophy are 10 for first place, 9 for second place etc.

Ron Emes Blade  - For National Sprint Racing. 

Points are awarded at each National Regatta (usually at Holme Pierrepont, Nottingham) and the paddler with the highest total for the season wins the Ron Emes Blade Trophy. 

Bernard Worth Trophy
Ron Emes Blade

The Flavell Trophy - For National Sprint Racing. 


Points are awarded at each National Regatta (usually at Holme Pierrepont, Nottingham) and the paddler with the highest total for the season wins the Trophy. 

Younger junior paddlers (9 to 12 years old) compete for the Flavell Trophy in the "Mini Sprints" series of races. 

Flavell Trophy
bottom of page